How will you travel? (We’re selling everything to travel the world)

Leave a comment
Help spread the word
ItalianoEnglishEspañol

I get this question surprisingly a lot, and I realized why: people think we’ll travel with a caravan or similar. Somebody even suggested a mini house.

We thought about the possibility or renting a caravan, but we decided against it for two main reasons: 1. We think the caravan experience would be great if the kids didn’t have to go in car seats; 2. I guess we like to have some comforts. We haven’t researched much, but the caravan sounds like a lot of work (emptying the toilet etc 😉

If you have experience traveling in caravans, please share it in the comments. We would love to hear about it!

Also, I would like to try and minimize our carbon footprint, so we will try to travel as much as possible by land and using public transport (and we’ll definitely try to avoid renting a private car).

If you’re not familiar with the concept of carbon footprint, I wasn’t even up until a few months ago, here’s an easy explanation my sister (the you probably know as Zia Cri) wrote up for me:

In few words, my carbon footprint is how much carbon dioxide I produce. In today’s society, it’s impossible to live without emitting carbon dioxide (and other harmful greenhouse gases). Sometimes it’s a direct consequence of our actions: when driving our car, the combustion that allows it to move produces carbon dioxide. Other times, emitting carbon dioxide is only indirectly connected to what we do: most of the year the bananas we buy have to be shipped over from South America. The container ships and trucks emit carbon dioxide, and a portion of that emission can be indirectly linked to us buying those bananas. The sum of both direct and indirect carbon emissions makes up our carbon footprint.

By the way, if you are interested in knowing more about the environmental problems we’re facing, follow @unlearnthemyth on Instagram, a new account that my sister has created to generate more awareness about these issues.


Help spread the word

The woman behind the words

My name is Carlotta, I’m 33 years old, I’m Italian, married to a Finnish guy, and together we raise Oliver (4) and Emily (2) Montessori and multilingual. We’re selling everything to travel the world.

More about me →

Did you like it? Agree? Disagree? Let me know.

If you prefer, you can also tweet to me or write me privately.

  1. Don't be shy. I'd love to hear what you think.

In a hurry?

Subscribe to my newsletter and get all the latest posts directly to your inbox. Only one email per month. No spam (pinky promise!) 🙂


Popular articles…

These articles proved quite popular. Perhaps you’ll like them too.


Latest articles…

Hot off the presses for your reading enjoyment.

Imprint  ·  Privacy Policy